Love-In for Jeremy Lin, a poem by Amy Uyematsu

It’s a win-win-win
and I’m all in
for Mr. Jeremy Lin

No one could imagine
an Asian American
NBA sensation
in this year of the dragon

It’s a win-win-win
yes, I’m all in
for Mr. Jeremy Lin

And how can I begin
it’s not just about skin
though I feel we’re like kin
as I watch this kid spin
with his kinda silly grin

Unaccustomed to the din
he’s a real genuine
plus he’s smart within
to Harvard he has been
and he can take it on the chin

It’s a win-win-win
are you all in
for Mr. Jeremy Lin?

Amy Uyematsu

Amy Uyematsu is a sansei poet and former high school math teacher from LA. She thought she was a Laker fan until Jeremy Lin came along.

This entry was posted in Culture, People, Sports by sesshu. Bookmark the permalink.

About sesshu

The woman slapping tortilla shapes makes like the rain hitting the cement floor. I like the smell of charcoal smoke, rotting vegetables and sheet metal rust. I think about it when it's 100 degrees and I'm driving in the desert.

Leave a Reply

